Holy Shit I’m Buying a Car

pos_carThis is a series in which I detail my complete and utter cluelessness of how to buy my first car.

Part 1: Rationale, Research and Panic

I’ve never owned my own car. I drove my mom’s car in high school out of necessity: I had to have a car to get to swim practice due to the weird inner workings of the Fort Smith, AR public school system which I won’t go into now. However, possibly the deciding factor that got me my current (totally sweet) job was my ballsiness in declaring I would get a car if it meant I got the job. One year later I’m still carless and people are starting to ask questions. Questions like, “When are you getting a car?” Fuck. I have to get a car.

My “research” has gone a little something like this:

OK. I can do this. I obviously can’t buy a new car, there’s no way in hell I could afford it. I don’t know why, but under $10,000 seems like a good number. Sure, let’s go with that. Good! I made a decision, look at me go! What kind of car do I want? A VW Bus, obviously. WTF? How can a beat up van cost that much? Fine. Google “best cars under 10,000.” Alright, I can work with like three of those. Wait, all of the reviews kind of suck. Now I’m not sure I like any of them. Oh, god there’s so many other options. I don’t know, $10,000 seems like a lot money. Should I spend that much? I’m gonna end up with a POS that craps out on me in 6 months, aren’t I? AREN’T I?

At this point I called my sister, whined for a solid 30 minutes and asked if she would just find a car for me. She told me to put my big girl pants on. The thing is, I don’t like big girl pants. They’re too constricting. I much prefer my slacker sweat pants.

Stay tuned for part 2: researching how to research buying a car and prepping for negotiation.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

